Policy Analyst, Kemp Consulting
Canton, Minnesota

Loni Kemp is a Policy Analyst at Kemp Consulting. She specializes in agriculture and water policy, including development of local, state and national policy. In this capacity, she has worked on several projects, providing policy analysis of the Great Lakes Whole Farm Planning Network; coordinating the Midwest Consortium on Groundwater and Farm Chemicals, a collaborative to promote sustainable farming practices; and managing projects on farmland preservation and agriculture market diversification. Most recently, Kemp is addressing stewardship incentives in federal agriculture legislation, focusing on the federal farm bill. She is particularly focused on the implementation of the Conservation Security Program, passed in the 2002 Farm Bill. Her efforts facilitated national support for implementation of this bill. Additionally, Kemp serves as co-chair of the National Campaign for Sustainable Agriculture, and is active in the Midwest Sustainable Agriculture Working Group. She is on the steering committee for the Clean Water Network's Feedlot Workgroup. She served for six years, including three as chair, on the board of the Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture, a joint venture between the University of Minnesota's College of Agriculture and the Sustainers Coalition. She previously was an advisory member of the Sustainable Agriculture Task Force of the President's Council on Sustainable Development, a member of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Citizens Board and the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources. She also is a Food and Society Policy Fellow. In conjunction with her professional endeavors, Kemp was a speaker at the Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts Conference, and has received various awards including the Emma B. Howe Foundation award, presented by Minnesota Rural Futures in 2003; the 1998 Steward of the Land award, presented by the Midwest Sustainable Agriculture Working Group; and the Outstanding Citizen Environmental Leader of the Year award given by the Clean Water Action of Minnesota.